CD Cover Image

Sonamus presents Music of Ireland, Irish & Baroque Music meet, debut CD.

1.    Silent O’Moyle Trad. [arr. M. Esposito/Sonamus]
2.    Tabhair Dom Do Lámh Ruairi Dall Ó Catháin  (fl. early 17th century) [arr. Sonamus]
3.    Rain Drops + The First Of May (International Workers’ Day) Cormac Breatnach [arr Niall Ó Callanáin + Sonamus]
4.    Cecilia Connellan Thomas Connellan  (c.1640–1698) [arr. Kathleen Loughnane]
5.    Guardame Las Vacas Luys de Narváez  (fl. 1526–49) [arr. Eamon Sweeney + Cormac Breatnach]  Carolan’s Welcome Toirdhealbhach Ó Cearbhalláin  (1670–1738) [arr. Sonamus]
6.    Rakes Of Westmeath Trad. [Burk Thumoth arr. Sonamus]
7.    Mr O’Connor Toirdhealbhach Ó Cearbhalláin  (1670–1738) [arr. Sonamus]
8.    Pléaracha Trad. [Burk Thumoth arr. Sonamus]
9.    Ballinamore Trad. [Burk Thumoth arr. Sonamus]
10.  Loftus Jones Toirdhealbhach Ó Cearbhalláin  (1670–1738) [arr. Sonamus]
11.   オープニング Prologue from Final Fantasy IV: Celtic Moon composed by Nobuo Uematsu
12.  Charles O’Connor Toirdhealbhach Ó Cearbhalláin  (1670–1738) [arr. Sonamus]

Michele Esposito (1855–1929) was an Italian-born composer, conductor and pianist who lived most of his professional life in Dublin.

The harper, Ruairí Dall Ó Catháin, spent most of his life in Scotland and is reputed to have attended the Scottish Court of King James in 1602. Tabhair dom do lámh (‘give me your hand’) was written as proof of his reconciliation with Lady Eglinton in 1603.

Cormac composed two reels in the traditional idiom many years ago. The 1st, was an attempt to score the percussive soundings of raindrops; the 2nd, was in honour of International Workers’ Day. Thomas Connellan was a celebrated harper-composer of the seventeenth century. He was born at Cloonmahon, County Sligo, and died in Scotland.

Luys de Narváez, Spanish court viheulist and composer to Philip II, composed Guardame las vacas  on a famous and beloved chord sequence – the Romanesca. Toirdhealbhach Ó Cearbhalláin (Turlough O’Carolan), ‘the last of the bards,’ was a blind, itinerant harper, composer and singer. Many consider him Ireland’s national composer. Carolan’s Welcome follows a harmony very similar to the Romanesca sequence.

Burk Thumoth published two books, “Twelve Scotch and Twelve Irish Airs” in c.1742 and “Twelve English and Twelve Irish Airs” in c. 1743-5. J. Simpson published the first edition in London.

Nobuo Uematsu’s Prologue features in ‘Celtic Moon’ which formed part of the Final Fantasy IV video game. Published by Warner Chappell Music.

Produced by Sonamus.
Sound Engineer: Ben Rawlins.
Recorded at Nun’s Cross Church, Ashford, Wicklow on 17 June 2015.
Many thanks to Rev Ken Rue.

Music of Ireland CD

Leave a Reply